How on earth have I missed Whole Foods? Seriously, who does that? In my newfound spirit to eat more healthy, I was looking at different websites to pick up what everyone was doing and where everyone was shopping. I had heard of Whole Foods through some family but never really got around to it. Maybe because I was questioning “I get the same tomatoes at Sprouts (my 1st love)”.

So yesterday as I was trying to make a list of things to buy to fill up my pantry, I wondered if Whole Foods might be a new experience for my parents visiting from India. We have a few stores that cater to Western products but none with this intensity back home. And I was right.

Aisle after aisle, I felt like a kid shopping in a toy store. Not only did everything look so healthy, it all looked beautiful. The variety… oh the variety… I have never been to a store that had so much to offer, no wonder I see many people around America becoming vegetarians/vegans. After a couple of hours, I ended up with some goods that are out of my normal shopping spectrum and headed home.

This morning as part of my plan to get breakfast no matter what, I decided to make a smoothie. Ok maybe this is not as lean or low in fats but a healthy and delicious smoothie nevertheless.

Banana/Almond Butter/Flaxseed/Raw Hemp Smoothie

Ingredients

1 whole banana

1 T almond butter (crunchy or smooth)

2 T flaxseed (ground or whole)

1 T raw green hemp seeds (ground or whole)

A swirl of honey

1 c. milk

2 T plain yoghurt (feel free to go crazy with the flavors)

Method:

  • In a blender, put 2 tablespoons of plain yoghurt. To this, add 2 T flax seeds and 1 T raw hemp. Give it a whizz until blended through.
  • Add the milk, the banana and the almond butter. Blend until all ingredients are well-combined.
  • Lastly, serve in a tall glass and top off with a swirl of honey.

Healthy, uber delicious and packed with fiber, potassium, vitamins and more. If you live in America, be sure to check out Whole Foods. If you already have, do let me know if there is something else I should be checking out. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

