Creamy Egg Salad Sandwich


I know… it’s been ages since I’ve published a post. It has been super busy and super exciting with mom and dad here. Traveling almost every single weekend, loads of shopping and many movies to catch up together on Netflix! Yes… the one thing most people living in America can’t do without!

Off late, I have been on a pretty food cooking spree. And that means healthy, yummy and beautiful-looking (I know many of my Indian friends are going …. what on earth??! Since taste surpasses texture in Indian cuisine… Ok, that may not be entirely true… but I can hardly think of any Indian that plates up every single meal. There. That’s my point) Thanks to my recent craving for colorful and pretty salads, I have begun to explore. Finally, I can say I am starting to think fibre can also be tasty. And that is something I will reserve to talk about in another post.

Last night, I was thinking to myself… how hard can it be to just get a bowl of cereal, pop a slice or two of bread in the toaster, crack an egg, beat and whip an omelette or simply make a porridge of oatmeal or millets? Let me tell you. Breakfast is not the most important meal of the day pour moi. Why? Because I grew up drinking a runny sweetened porridge that we call “kanji” before heading to school or college. Mom would always have them waiting at the dining table and all I was expected to do was drink it up and dash to school.  Breakfast was always something I knew, in the back of my mind, was good for health. Yet, something I never got around to make a habit until quite recently. Now I manage to get something every once in a while. It’s still not as good but something nevertheless.

So this morning after what I thought was another futile attempt at waking up early, I was woken up by my brand new community with the gazillion sounds of a gazillion bulldozers that are clearly not supposed to run at 8AM. Not good for the sleepy soul. A couple of coffees later, I decided I wanted to get myself a good breakfast. And to me, a good breakfast has to have eggs. I popped open the fridge only to find I had barely any veggies or other ingredients. My mind started doing its own weird thing and took me to an airport late at night. Most airports close their best restaurants by 8 or 9pm. The only places that are open then are small cafes that serve coffee, cakes, salads and basic sandwiches. And I thought… creamy egg salad. When I told my mom I was going to make us some creamy egg salad sandwich, she cringed her nose and said she wasn’t too comfortable knowing that it would have yellow mustard in it. I convinced her if she tried this, she wouldn’t be disappointed. She loved the sandwich and was pleasantly surprised at how the flavors had blended well covering the sour flavors of yellow mustard.

Creamy Egg Salad Sandwich (Makes 4)

Ingredients:

4 eggs

1/4 cup light mayo

1 tsp yellow mustard or any mustard you have on hand

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp granulated garlic

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp powdered black pepper

1/4 tsp paprika

1 tsp chives (optional)

Method:

  1. Bring some water to a running boil in a saucepan. 
  2. Add the eggs and let them boil in the water for 15 mins.
  3. In the meantime, take a medium bowl add in the rest of the ingredients.
  4. Once the eggs are done, run them in cold water immediately. (Trick to avoid eggs going green – grey)
  5. Mix it all up until it looks absolutely divine.
  6. Take a slice of bread. Add 2 tbsp of the creamy egg salad and close it up with another slice.
  7. Relish this Delish!

Leave a Reply

