Damn those lemon cravings!


For some weird reason, I have been dreaming about lemon tarts for a few days now. Every night I go to bed, I imagine myself in one of those Vegas buffets filling my plate with petite desserts and popping in those chewy crumbly lemony goodness. It’s just the start of the week and I’m already dreaming of dessert. Knowing that this dream would only come true over the weekend and my patience running as thin as a slice of cheese about to melt away, I decided to look up the recipe on the internet.

Now let me tell you this — I always thought lemon tarts was one of those difficult recipes (not too difficult; but mediocrely so..) that required some skill (yes, it does need some of that) and a lot of patience (yes, it does need some of that too especially if it’s all you have been dreaming about for days). I realized this is one of the easiest dessert recipes I have ever come across. The prep time is very less — literally 10 mins to put the whole thing together. The baking time of course is in two steps and that takes you an overall 40 mins. Now the recipe I got off the net called for certain measures. I strayed a little away from it and ended up baking my tart in a regular baking dish. If you don’t have a tart pan and are not going to buy one in the near future andddd obviously don’t mind a tart that looks more like a pie, this recipe works perfectly.

Lemon Tart 

For the pastry

5 tbsp butter

4 tbsp icing sugar

1 cup flour

Ice cold water

image_4

For the filling

3 eggs

1 cup caster sugar (I didn’t have this; so I substituted it with granulated sugar pulsed through my hand grinder)

4 tbsp lemon juice

3 tbsp flour

icing sugar for dusting (I used 1 tbsp as I used a regular baking dish. This would vary on a tart pan)

Zest of 1 lemon

image image_1 image_2 image_3

Cut cold butter into small pieces and mix with icing sugar until it all looks crumbly.

Add in the flour and beat until you get crumbly texture.

Add a few spoons of ice cold water and knead lightly (Do not overwork the dough).

Knead until it looks like a pastry dough.

image_5 image_6 image_7

Grease your tart pan/baking dish with butter. Preheat oven to 360 deg F.

Spread the dough on your tart pan and place in oven for 15-20 mins or until the crust is golden brown.

image_8 image_10

As the tart crust sits in the oven, in a bowl, combine eggs, sugar, zest, juice and flour until smooth.

photo 1 (5)

Pour this mixture on the hot pastry and place in the oven for another 15-20 mins.

photo 2 (6)

You will know the tart is ready when you shake the pan and the mixture jiggles ever so slightly or there is no movement at all.

Remove from oven. Let cool on a cooling rack.

photo 3 (3)

Dust the tart with icing sugar. Make lemon peel curls (using a zester or a knife if you can manage to carve out the peel).

I’m so terrible at it that I instead decorated the tart with a few peels and mint leaves.

photo 4 (2)

Cut up and serve. Enjoy!

One thought on “Damn those lemon cravings!

Leave a Reply

