One more time with cookies


On a recent trip to San Diego, we halted at a small cafe close to old town. The variety of sweet concoctions were too tempting and we had to order a bit of everything just for the sake of trying the sweet goods. My first bite into the chocolate chip cookie spread a moment of pure happiness followed immediately by the thought of my failure to bake decent cookies dampened my spirit heavily. I believe that I am a cook with pretty good instincts and hence cannot be an utter failure in anything I make. And here I was stuck with what people around the world called the easiest recipe on earth and I could not make ones that would never end up in the bin. This thought constantly tucked itself in the back of my mind. And I was always reminded of this particular problem I had to overcome someday.

Today, being of one those K-away-at-work days, I decided to go into my kitchen and experiment. I vaguely remembered having bought some sugar -packed brown and granulated white for this very purpose. Alas I could not find granulated white in my pantry. Now you would think “Which home would not have a packet of granulated white sugar in their pantry?”. Well, mine wouldn’t. You see, me and K shifted to using sugar in the raw crystals in our coffees and hence didn’t really see the need to have white sugar unless of course I was baking in the kitchen. Faced with a new situation of a lack of white sugar and a super craving to bake chocolate chip cookies the right way, I told myself I would do this somehow despite my terrible background in baking.

The recipe I was going to use which I picked up from a Good Housekeeping magazine called for white sugar and semi-sweet chocolate chips – neither of which were available in my pantry. So I decided to chuck the recipe and use my own measurements just to see how it would turn out. And to my surprise, they were perfect. Though I would want to work on the uniformity and color of the cookies, I thought this attempt tasted heavenly and content with the result that I have decided to share this recipe with you.

Sugar in the Raw Chocolate Chip Cookies

INGREDIENTS

1.4 cups white flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar in the raw
1 stick of room temperature butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1/2 a packet of milk chocolate chips or 6 oz of milk chocolate chips

METHOD

1. In a bowl, mix the flour, salt and baking soda. Keep aside.
2. Use the mixing device of your choice and blend in 1/2 cup of packed brown sugar, 1/4 cup of sugar in the raw and a stick of room temperature butter or 8 tablespoons of butter.
3. When it is thoroughly mixed, add the yolk of one egg and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Do not use imitation as I’m not sure if it was this that ruined my cookies or if it was the baking soda.
4. Blend this mixture well before you add in the flour mixture.
5. Transfer the contents back into the bowl.
6. Add in the chips. Mix with a silicone spatula.
7. Preheat oven to 375 deg f.
8. Use an icecream scoop or roll same sized balls of cookie in your hand and place them at least 3 inches apart as these will spread in the oven.
9. Bake until edges are golden or for around 13 mins.
10. Remove and place in cooling rack. Let it cool completely before consumption.

20121112-154453.jpg

Leave a Reply

