Panchphoran bhindi


If there is something a lot of us hate, it is having to decide the menu every single day. When I woke up this morning, I realized I had woken up earlier than usual and decided to make some breakfast. As I started to saute some onions, K had to rush for a meeting and told me he would not be home until lunch. There I was with a saute pan of onions browning away to glory and had no idea if I wanted to cook any further for just me. So I turned off the heat and decided I would just make do with a few cups of coffee like I always do. For lunch I decided to use the left over Sarson from last night with some fresh homemade chapatis. I made the dough for the chapatis and let it rest.

All this time, I had this nagging feeling – about the onions that still had their fate undecided and the very-little sarson for lunch. So I walked into the kitchen around noon and opened my freezer to check for any rescue veggies that would make a satisfying meal. There it was – a packet of okra unopened and I had the brightest smile because me and K love the combinations of okra with onions. So what if the onion are chopped finely? Twenty minutes later we were sitting down with a plate of super soft yummy chapatis and delicious bhindi.

Panchphoran Bhindi

Panchphoran (for those of you who don’t know what this spice mix is – mustard seeds, fenugreek seeds, kalonji or onion seeds, jeera or cumin seeds and fennel seeds) – 1 tsp

Bhindi or Okra – 2 cups of 1 inch cut okra

Onions – 1 medium, finely chopped or sliced

Turmeric – a pinch

Red Chilly Powder – 1 tsp

Sabji masala – 1 tsp

Kitchen king – 1/2 tsp (optional)

Yoghurt – Plain, 1 generous cup and unbeaten (unbeaten gives you a thick yoghurt gravy)

Salt – to taste

Oil – 1 tbsp

Method:

1. In a deep pan, put 1 tbsp oil

2. Once the oil is hot, put the tsp of panchphoran and let it splutter.

3. Add chopped onions and saute until golden brown

4. Add frozen or fresh bhindi. Saute until soft

5. Add unbeaten yoghurt. Top off with a pinch of turmeric, a tsp of red chilly powder (cut back or add on this depending on your preferred spice levels), a tsp of sabji masala and a tsp of kitchen king.

6. Mix well and let it cook until the yoghurt starts to thicken and the bhindi is thoroughly cooked.

7. Add salt to taste and mix well.

8. Garnish with coriander leaves or serve just like that with chapatis or rice.

You can even mix this in a lot of plain yoghurt for some interesting raitha.

Try this and don’t hate me for not posting pictures. Me and K were so hungry we couldn’t wait to gobble it up.

2 thoughts on “Panchphoran bhindi

Leave a Reply

