To all my Indian ancestors


Thank you for setting all the wrong examples in the world by being and achieving things that I can in very simple language describe as “pain in my a**”. When I think of all the delicious home made goodies (sweets and savory), I can literally feel all sorts of emotion bursting through my mind and mouth. The feel of seedai crumbling inside the mouth, the smell of oil and ghee wafting through the air after a day’s bakshanam made for Diwali every single year, the clinging and clanging of tongs and the iron kadaievery bit of it is enough to drive people away from home crazy. 

In the sudden realization that I would have to do the same for my future, I told myself that I should start learning all this right away so I can pass on all the inherited way-better-than Grand Sweets recipes to the future bloodline. Using the Sevai Naazhi I borrowed from my dear aunt in hopes of a bakshanam-ful Diwali last year, I got the recipe from my mom and set up all that I needed to make a simple Mul Thenkuzhal.

After making the dough using butter, salt, jeera, hing and water, the food genius that I am started to work the naazhi to churn out professional looking Thenkuzhal. All I can say is, “Bleddy”. Who the heck invented naazhi and who on earth had all the patience in the world to invent recipes for bakshanams. I chose to use the traditional naazhi, the one that is T-shaped with the upper block of steel pressing the dough down the star-shaped disc. Why? Because I was told that this would be the easiest. “Bleddy” all of you. The end result is good alright. Infact I never thought I could have ever made anything like this with my own hands, but was it worth the pain and hard work? I don’t know. Really.

Working the naazhi requires iron hands. The kind that is a 1000 times stronger than the block of stainless steel used to push the dough. After quite sometime, I decided to use some more water to soften the dough. That actually worked in making mul thenkuzhal just like the pros all round and disciplined. Even after an entire blogpost, I cannot get out of my mind the pain I endured and how much my hand hurts as I press this post.

Leave a Reply

