Voila! I’m in ‘french’ soup!


Cooking has always been a passion, a hobby, a mind-body-soul relaxing therapy to me. It helps me portray myself in the food I make. And it gives me joy.

 

There is nothing like having a curiosity to try new food. New food gets you excited, leaves your mind and mouth in anticipation to discover a dish that is spectacular and unique. And with your hands dashing towards your fork to take the food and to gobble it up is an adventure of its own!

Ah! The simple wonders of life!

Today, I read an article on how the British had excelled the French at cooking.

* Whoa* (I’m presuming 90% of you reading this must be gaping at the computer screen shocked at the bold statement made in what you believe must be an unmistakeably questionable source of information!)

So anyway…. This got me wondering why I have never, I mean NEVER, tried French cooking. And to know that French cuisine is the most raved about cuisine known for its exquisite taste and unbeatable excellence in being the king of all food, I was quite ashamed to realize that the country I so dream about and the language I so love to speak has never inspired me to touch upon another aspect of anything that is french, which is FRENCH COOKING.

 

Not even the movie, Ratatouille! For God’s sake, you would have thought a movie like that could inspire one to blend the colours of nature and especially the vegetarian colours of nature (considering we are strict vegetarians at home).

 

So thanks to Guardian, Time.com and some research article that said the British can hands down produce more variety in food than the French, I decided to make my very first french dish. Like all meals, I began with a soup. An elegant yet simple soup that unleashes new levels of taste and meaning to fine food.

Vichyssoise

[Taken from veggie table website]

Yield 6 servings
Time 1½ hours
Tools
  • Dutch oven or large saucepan with lid
  • wooden spoon
  • blender or food processor
  • large bowl
Ingredients
  • 2 T butter
  • 3 c onion, chopped
  • 1 t salt
  • 4 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 4 c water
  • 2 c milk
  • white pepper
  • 1 c heavy cream (optional)
  • several T chives, chopped
Directions Sauté the butter, onions, and salt until onions begin to brown, about 15 minutes.Add potatoes and water, bring to boil, cover, lower heat, and simmer until potatoes are cooked, about 10 to 15 minutes.Transfer to blender and purée until very smooth. Pour into bowl and add milk, pepper, and optional cream.Chill and serve topped with chives.

Bon appetite and Bonjour!

7 thoughts on “Voila! I’m in ‘french’ soup!

  1. Congrats on venturing over to the “French” side. This is one of my favorite cuisine’s. I too am vegetarian and the flavors in French cooking are fantastic. ENJOY!

  2. Hi Divvvy……i tried the Vichysoisse…….it was tres magnifique!!! Quite delicious I must say. Although I must admit, I strayed from the recipe as usual. I threw in a splash of Obikwa white wine which added just the right bit of oomph to it! And ofcourse the chives adds such a wonderful pungent aroma to it. On the whole, Ram and I enjoyed it Ram went onto shallow fry some bread pieces which was quite good as well.Just thought I should let you know that it was a success. Looking forward to more such interesting recipes.
    Love
    Rats

  3. Hi Dibs
    Thanks a ton for introducing me to French cuisine. I have never tasted a better soup than the Vichyssoise in my life so far. It was so tasty so filling and I do not have a word to describe it.The experience was so rich.
    I have to thank my dearest daughter Divvy for keeping me updated not only in different cuisines but also the latest and really good movies. We share great moments whether be it shopping ,watching movies,trying out different restaurants / recipes etc.
    Expecting many more recipes to follow!! I am always ready to be your guest!!!!!!
    Love
    Mom

Leave a Reply

