Phoenix from the Ashes


Powder of ashes like snowfall in winter

The air and army withered in a splinter

Smoky-grey flaky leaves dead and forgotten

Each cobblestone tinted and tainted

Things of dishearten

I stand in the middle of a big large road

With ashen embers resting on my lashes

My coat and tote limp from the bashes

People lay, some far away and some grey,

The death spell cast on all the bay

I feel a tug in my heart,

Shocked at the sight

Cursed fates for a deadly plight

I stand alone, guilty for having survived

No goodbyes or funerals to leave me teary-eyed

The carpet of carcasses in front of me lay

Left me with loud realization of a lonesome foray

I wished I were blamed for their unjustified departure

Or for my survival inexplicable in any form of literature

The sky now looks a faded rotten orange

With the embers settled like a thick mat on the ground

Suddenly the sound of tip tap made me jump

From my lost thoughts.

My coat and tote comes back to life

I feel a tug and around my calf a hug

The most innocent eyes looked up at me

And said, “Mommy, I want to go home please…”

8 thoughts on “Phoenix from the Ashes

  1. Love it Divya! I knew you are very talented but this poem of urs has awestruck me! Looking forward to many more beautiful poems from you!

  2. Your poem is a visual treat!!!!
    The whole scene opens and comes live in front of you that you feel you are there witnessing it in person.
    The flow of your most selected and picked words and the flow of the poem comes to a beautiful end.Makes me wonder what else you have in store for us.

    Wish you all the luck in the world.Please keep writing!!!!!!
    Mom

  3. Really nice. It reminds me of a poem by Robert Frost “The Road not taken”. It feels more depressing though and speaks volumes about the poetess’s feeling of childhood remorse… or maybe she feels the world looks hopeful and wonderful at first glance but as we progress further and further we lose our innocence gradually and realize it’s not such a great place and we all wanna tug on someone for comfort and wanna go back home. I’m not much into poetry sorry, but that’s kind of what I could get from this. Everything was very subtle and delicately poised with great metaphors which could mean many things.

    Overall very good poem, deep meaning coming from a deep mind. Don’t ever lose that spark Divya and you will definitely go places in the literary world some day… online and offline. Hope you write something more positive in the future though lol 🙂

    5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

